The JetBlue Update

It’s amazing how many conversations between guys begin something like: “So, did you bang the shit out of her that night?” Well, at least in my world they seem to. And that’s exactly how R. re-introduced the topic of JetBlue when I was hanging with him on Saturday night. Of course, all I could say was that no, we only talked and yadda yadda yadda and whatever and he said “I’m not going to say anything bad about Mo, but she, um, gets around. I just wanted to make sure you knew that.” And that’s the cool thing about R. Unlike D., he’s very in tune with people’s relationships and cares about all those crazy things like feelings and sensitivity and stuff like that. And I told him that, yeah, I had a pretty good idea about what her track record was, though I’m sure I don’t know all the sordid details. So, anyway, R. goes down in the books as the fourth person who has tried to steer me away from Ms. JetBlue. But that’s okay, except for a few brief moments when I let my guard down, I’ve mostly been in this out of curiosity–can JetBlue be saved from the hole she’s digging for herself? And will I be the person to do it?

Oh, and on Friday, I had run into her briefly at the bar. She was on her way out as I was on my way in. She stopped for a few minutes to talk, explained to me that she didn’t feel up to going out that night, that her mother had just had to put down her dog and all and she wanted to be with her. I listened and empathized, but I didn’t weaken in my resolve. When she gave her apology I resisted the temptation to say “well maybe some other time” or “what about tomorrow?” or whatever. I just said “That’s okay” and let the conversation move on.

So that’s that. Who knows what will happen next? I’m pretty sure that I have no fucking clue at the very least. Maybe this JetBlue thing has run it’s course or maybe this big ol’ ebb I’m holding on to will lead to a turn around. In the end, it doesn’t really matter. I like what I have now: a lot of new friends; a whole range of new experiences; no idea what’s around the next corner. Maybe it’s Mg or K2 or who knows who. All I know is that I’m writing again; I’m meeting new and cool people that I never knew were out there; I’m feeling alive; I’m feeling happy.

That’s all there is to it.

Next up: secret bars and campfires

Leave a Reply

