Celebrity Birthdays

One of my favorite asides when teaching is giving the kids a run down on the day’s celebrity birthdays. I don’t do it every day, but it does come in handy on occasion as a side lesson. Oh, and yes, I can justify it as expanding my students’ cultural literacy.

Here are today’s celebrity birthdays: Kanye West, who’s turning 30. Remember Kanye, 30 is the new 20. Next up, Keenan Ivory Wayans, who is older than I at 49. Tim Berners-Lee (52), who’s credited with inventing the World Wide Web; Nancy Sinatra, whose 67 year old boots are still made for walking. Jerry Stiller, who is 80 today. Ben, don’t forget to call him up! And, finally, architect Frank Lloyd Wright, who would be 140.

Finally, and, let’s face it, this is the reason I got on the topic in the first place, today is future celebrity Caseybug‘s birthday as well. From what I understand, both wine and cold hard cash are acceptable gifts.

So, that’s it for now. Later on I will try to write up the somewhat bizarre night I had last night…Until then, see ya.

One Response to “Celebrity Birthdays”

  1. CaseyBug Says:

    Aw, thank ya Joe!
    You’re the best 🙂

    -CBC

Leave a Reply

