The Nice Ones Always Do

Yesterday was a busy day for me–after work that is. Work itself was kind of boring. I wasted a lot of time–blogging, chatting, etc. I did a little cleaning up, but not nearly as much as I should have. Oh well. Not getting things done is the way I roll, as you know.

Right after work we had a going away party for a colleague. I was only able to stay for an hour or so because of golf, but in that time I managed to make a hilarious joke that I can’t repeat here because it was that far out there and some might interpret it the wrong way. I also reminded a co-worker of a bet that we have going down on Friday at the end-of-the-year work picnic. That should be interesting if we don’t chicken out. For Friday, I’m also looking forward to our other plan, which is to act so obnoxious at the picnic that they reconsider ever doing that for us again. The ‘Jagerbomb Sack Race’ in particular should catch some people’s attention. I am SO winning that one. And, also, at the party yesterday I was berated for hanging out with someone in her twenties. Female co-workers can be so like that. I pointed out that I was also hanging out with a 37 year old and so, on the average, I was going out with a 29 year old. That math worked better for me than anyone else though.

Golf was largely uneventful–except for the fact that I discovered that I golf just as well after a number of beers as I do sober. And, believe me, that isn’t well at all. But it was a beautiful night to be outdoors.

After a little break to pretty myself up I headed down to the bar. D. and JetBlue were there. Again, I don’t want to throw too much out there about JB though I will say that she was back on the ‘talking about the asshole’ kick that she’s been on. She was supposed to meet him yesterday afternoon but he cancelled yet again and, besides, she claimed, she only wanted to meet him to tell him in person that she was through with him. I believe that part of the story was added for my benefit. But whatever. She was a mess of contradictions as always, but that’s okay, I know what I signed on for.

More happily, K2 showed up for the first time in a while. It was nice to hang out with her for a little while. She demonstrated an awesome bar room ESP-type trick. And, I do believe, she gets more beautiful each time I see her. Unfortunately she’s still as skinny as hell but what can ya do about that?

And, oh my, when JetBlue was leaving there was a biker guy leaving at the same time. So she decided to try out sitting on his bike. And, because it’s JB we’re talking about, she managed to burn herself on one of the bike’s pipes. I felt bad for her though I didn’t see the burn–she left directly from the bike to home. But we messaged a bit and I got to both show some sympathy and gently make fun of her. I told her that I didn’t really picture her as a biker chick, and she said she could pull it off–“you just haven’t seen me dressed all in leather yet.” Heh–and you can imagine where the conversation went so I won’t keep going on with that.

And I called Afternoon Girl. She had called me much earlier but the message didn’t go through until then. I hate you T-Mobile. Anyway, we only got to talk briefly because my phone was dying. That sucked. Calling her was going to be one of the highlights of my night. In fact, it was anyway. Along with K2’s tricks and JetBlue claiming that she told me things she never intended to because I listen too much to her, talking with AG about her work and all just makes a dull night interesting.

Oh, and that reminds me. JetBlue was pressing me to tell some “pathetic” stories about myself–as she tells hers to me. I was a bit slow-witted last night and told her I’d bring some tonight. Little does she know that my most pathetic story is the one starring her. Wait until she gets to hear that one.

Off to work.

Leave a Reply

