Amends Made

A short post to tide you over… 

So, last night, dear readers, I took Tattoo Guy out for his birthday. We had a pretty good group of people there–JetBlue, A., K2, D.R. to name a few. It was a rippin night of Tattoo Guy drinking and being as loud and non-stealth as possible. We started out at the usual bar but at some point Tattoo Guy and JetBlue decided it would be a good idea to go to kareoke. Oh man…so there I was with TG and JetBlue–and she’s been flirting with him lately and A. and K2–and they’ve been seeming like a couple. And then there was me. I don’t know how I got myself into a situation where I was alone with two “sorta couples” AND I had crushes on both of the women not so long ago. Oh well, it was what it was.

The night ended fairly unceremoniously with Tattoo Guy screaming at the guy in the McDonalds drive-thru. Yep. In a way it made sense, the guy was saying that they don’t have cheeseburgs after midnight. They had quarter pounders with cheese, but cheeseburgs were not available. WTF?

 But what I really want to write about is that C. was at the bar. And not only did I get to buy her and her friend a couple of outrageously expensive drinks, but I got to chat with her for a while and she gave me her phone number. Sweet! I don’t know how things will turn out. I’m hopeful but not expectant about it or getting myself too worked up about the possibility of a new woman (I’m lying, dudes).

I think the biggest problem is that she’s not so sure about the age thing–she’s 28 and I’m, well, I’m not. Both her and her friend asked me a number of questions related to how old I was–she was pretty direct about it: “I’m 28. How old are you?” But her friend separately was like “How many years have you been teaching? Did you start teaching directly out of college?” etc. I could see her counting the years in her head. One plus I have with the friend is that her nephew had been one of my students a couple years ago and I know he’ll say good things about me. Or at least I’m hoping…

Anyway, I’m going to call her mid-week and see what happens. Like I said, I’m hopeful but I’m not gonna get too worked up about this. (As she reads this, Afternoon Girl is probably laughing because I already called her last night to tell her that I finally connected with C. and I’m guessing I sounded all giddy and shit.)

So, that’s that dear readers. We shall see what happens.

Leave a Reply

