Recapping, part uno

I’ve been saying this a lot, but I have a lot of catching up to do here.

So, let’s start with things I remember: Sunday I watrched the Pats game with the kids and friends with kids. It was sweet: we had tons of good food (he makes amazing Puerto Rican rice and spareribs and I made some decent wings with a sweet/hot Thai-like sauce) and good beer. The highlight of the beer is that he has his kids trained to fetch them. They ask what flavor and he says either green, brown, or can. Fun stuff. And the kids were mezmerized by his fireplace. They fetched kindling–watch out for coyotes, kids!–and then he started a blaze. The kids watched it, fascinated. They looked for different images in the flames, much as they would with clouds. I still love watching fires (not in the scary arsonist way, just the cool campfirey way) so I understand their thrill.

After that I went to the bar briefly. I was supposed to meet Tattoo Guy there, but he had already left. K2 and the Jilted One were there, as well as D. and Dr. B. I went in fully intending to talk to K2–you know that thing I got for her–but while I was still walking in the door I notice that the bartender had put a beer down for me in the middle of the bar…and that was when I noticed JetBlue sitting there wearing a Red Sox cap. She had bought me a beer the second I walked in. Yeah. That was pretty unexpected. I was talking to a friend about this later and he agreed with me that I was the victim of a whatever the female version of the “cock-block” is called. She has a deep, abiding hatred for K2 and knows that I like her. I can definitely see her passive-aggressively keeping me away. I mean, it’s not like she has any interest in me herself or anything.

But, anyway, I was tired and only stayed for a couple. I talked to the Jilted One a little but didn’t get a chance to talk to K2 though I did witness an argument between her and D.–she confronted him about all the shit he was talking about her to her roommate. He was attempting a weak combination of bravado and minimizing what he said and some sort of attempt at self-deprecation, but all in all he was clearly in the wrong, had clearly treated her shittily. Of course, Dr. B was not helping. He too has been talking trash about K2 and he continued to try to as she confronted D. But she dismissively ignored him and gave me a look that suggested that he reminded her of the largest fart that someone else dropped in a crowded theatre.

Anyway, it was a short night for me, but a good Sunday overall.

One Response to “Recapping, part uno”

  1. craziequeen Says:

    Hey Joe, sounds an excellent day. I think everyone loves losing themselves in a nice campfirey way……..I adore fires too.

    Michele sent me your way – hmm, wonder if my cats could be trained to fetch beer and firewood?

    cq

Leave a Reply

