“He’s a Fuckin’ Keeper”

So, Saturday rolled around and I found out that Ms. Hold ‘Em couldn’t head out until around ten, which was a bit of a bummer but, hey, what can ya do? During the day my older son had a basketball game. On Friday his team had been crushed 41-7 or something like that. Saturday was much better–they only lost 20-13. My son had a basket too, so that was all good.

Saturday night I stopped by the secret bar for a bit before heading out to get Ms. Hold ‘Em. I took the surprisingly quick trip to her town and picked up my lovely date. And she was looking pretty darned cute too. But not as cute as her idea to start off the evening–“let’s go down to the scary bar. I have to drop something off there”. As I may have mentioned in the past, she used to work there and had a scary collage of some of the regulars that was going to go up on the wall.

We got there and she was met with lots of hugs and kisses and “wherecho bin, girl?” We got a drink and went to the back room for a cigarette with an older woman who called herself Ms. Hold ‘Em’s ‘momma’. Anyway, they talked a little bit and then “Momma” asked Ms. Hold ‘Em: “So, is this your boyfriend?” Hehe, put on the spot, right there on the second date. And, Ms. Hold ‘Em blushed a little but handled it well and said that “we’re trying to figure that out. He’s definitely my date.” And we all talked more. Then ‘Momma’ said: “You know, he’s a really fuckin’ nice guy. He’s a fuckin’ keeper.” Ahh, yes. The stamp of approval. Then she added: “Sorry, but I say ‘fuck’ all the time.” And, though I was dressed, let’s say, a little too well for the scary bar, I wanted to let her know I could fit in so I responded: “No fuckin’ problem.” And she looked at Ms. Hold ‘Em and nodded her headed and said: “I told you he’s a fuckin’ keeper.”

So, after that, we had a nice night hanging out down at the secret bar with friends, although I would’ve much preferred to have some “us” time–and I’m not meaning it the way you’re probably taking it. But you know, this was good too. As I’ve written before, Ms. Hold ‘Em is very affectionate: PDAs are suddenly all the rage for me. Lots of hand holding and coming together at the bar and lots of hugging and stuff when we’re outside for cigarettes. Even when we went upstairs to the main bar, in that less intimate atmosphere, we were hand in hand walking through the place.

Anyway, the night wore on and at closing time it was pretty clear the secret bar was only closing in name. The owner turned out all the lights and about 10 or so of us sat there in candlelight, hardly seeing each other, conversation going back and forth like spiritvoices. Ms. Hold ‘Em and I used the darkness to our advantage is all else to say there.

Oh, except that at some point after-hours a woman showed up at the bar and demanded her husband go home with her. That was fatally embarrassing I would imagine. And finally around 3:45 Ms. Hold ‘Em and I and a couple of other couples were the only ones left except the owner who was cursing the fact that he was the only one who wasn’t with someone. So, anyway, we headed off into the sunrise and the night was done.

Like I’ve said before, all is good for me, but must be getting awfully dull for you, dear reader.

10 Responses to ““He’s a Fuckin’ Keeper””

  1. panthergirl Says:

    What it does is bring me back to the days when I hung out in bars, and I have to say…. I don’t miss it one bit. Hope everything is good for you and Ms. Hold ’em, but I think the bar scene gets pretty depressing after awhile.

    Here via michele!

  2. Novy Says:

    HI from Michelle…

    Way to win over Momma 😉

    Sounds like the two of you had a great time
    and I read Pantha comment and I have to agree the bar scene does get old but… big but here

    there is Bar and there is club
    Bars get old but Night clubs where you can dance (and I dont mean the ones here in Euro where they stuff you in life sardines and you can dance without having “smelly drunk hand on my ass stranger” on you

    but then you do not get US time really do you

    Fire hates clubs and crowds so we stay at home and have lots of US time (and just so you know I know how you meant I mean there is US time and then their is make out time 😉

    enjoy your weekend coming up

  3. Mar Says:

    Haven’t headed off into the sunrise in ages… Michele sent me your way to remind me of that 🙂
    Happy weekend!

  4. Pat Says:

    Well that held my attention. Does ‘Holding’ mean steady, reliable? I’m a Brit
    so a stranger you might say. As for the bar ambience when you are at that exciting start of a relationship it matters not where you are. Ideally you would be by a shore looking at mountains – but that’s just me.
    Michele says Hi!

  5. MadSeason Says:

    Greetings Joe – am here from Michele’s! Glad I dropped by and hope things are going well with Miss Hold Em! I’m hooked on the story now, thank you very much! I’ll be back for the continuation…

  6. Pat Says:

    Tonight is the first time I’ve been Joe and I really like the way you write. Very professional. Thank you for your visit and Hi from Michele. Will have a peek lower down:)

  7. Bubblehead Says:

    Thanks for swinging by my blog. Fun story. Got married before I could hang out in bars so not too familiar with the scene, but enjoyed your rendition.

  8. Sarcasmom Says:

    Sounds like a date. ALthough it has been a while since I have actualy had one. I have been reading backwards down the blog and you have quite the interesting life!

  9. flleenie Says:

    Like ‘Panthergirl’ it reminds me of bars in my past…but anyway…

    It sounds like you’re a keeper!

    Michele sent me

  10. Some Clarifications « No Setback Will Set Me Back! Says:

    […] No Setback Will Set Me Back! “If you didn’t want to date a drunk why’d you go shopping at the drunk store?” « “He’s a Fuckin’ Keeper” […]

Leave a Reply

