Too Long of a Thursday

It’s Tuesday and I’m back at work. Yesterday was an unexpected day off. An appreciated one, but an unexpected one.

But, that’s not what I’m here to write about. I have four or five days to update you on and that’s what I’m here to try to commit to “paper.” Let’s see, where to begin…

Thursday was an interesting night, though at the moment the details of it are kind of hard to remember. Tattoo Guy and I went down to the secret bar where Ms. Hold ‘Em was dealing cards. Actually, we went to the usual bar first, because he insisted that we stop there. So I was particularly annoyed when at quarter to nine–45 minutes after I usually show up at the secret bar–I got a text from Ms. Hold ‘Em saying that there weren’t any poker players there yet. This was annoying because I wasn’t there and she was there and not working. As you may have guessed, I’m not much of a fan of wasted opportunities.

So we got there shortly thereafter and I got to spend a half hour or so hanging with Ms. Hold ‘Em before her game got started. And, even then, early in the evening, I noticed that she definitely was feeling closer to me. You know, slowly letting down that guard that you put up when you meet someone new and you know that your emotions might be on the line. As we talked too, one of the first things she did was to aplogize for something that happened the previous Saturday. This was especially nice for me because I had been annoyed by what happened, but had written it off as an “it is what it is” situation. Something to store away as a potential problem, but not really my place to say anything about it. Sorry if I’m being vague here, but, you know, I’m not going to tell you everything. Anyway, her apology was really touching and definitely reinforced that “getting closer” feeling that I was sensing.

Anyway, the night progressed and Tattoo Guy, who was a bit lit when we went out, switched over to red wine. I warned him it was a mistake, but he wouldn’t listen to me. He was mainly there expecting the Young One (who’s also the Friday bartender there) to be there and be interested in him. He felt that she had led him to believe that was the case. Though, of course, what was really happening was that she was building him up for her friend who didn’t have the nerve to do it herself. Or something like that. At any rate, it wasn’t going to be a good evening for him because the Young One was on a mission (involving another guy) and Tattoo Guy was drinking the red wine on top of everything else he had had that evening.

I don’t remember too many other details from the evening except that Ms. Hold ‘Em and I got to hang out a while and then, at closing time, she, I, and Tattoo Guy stood outside talking until quarter of four in the morning. Yes, I did have to work the next day, thank you for noticing. And the bizarre thing about that conversation was that the two of them were basically talking about me and about how our relationship was going. As if Ms Hold ‘Em was too shy to ask me directly or something. I don’t know. Anyway, working the next day on two hours a sleep was not a treat for me.

next update coming atcha tomorrow…

2 Responses to “Too Long of a Thursday”

  1. Carmi Says:

    Howdy. Popped by from Michele’s today to say hi. I’m glad I followed your link home, as I’ve enjoyed reading your stuff. I almost feel as if I’m out and about with you.

    The boring married guy in me also lives vicariously through folks who get out into the real world 🙂

  2. WendyWings Says:

    So basically Thursday stretched out into Friday, I wouldn’t have the stamina for that. Michele sent me to say hi so hi !

Leave a Reply

