That Was The Week That Was

Let’s see, it’shard to write much about this past weekend–what with the Patriots giving agreat real-world demonstration of how hubris can bring down the mighty. I mean, come on asses: 4th and 13? that field goal would’ve come in handy. And that last drive? I guess it’s tough to come up with good plays when you assume ahead of time that you’re not going to be behind with 50 seconds left.

But anyway, I got to watch the game with Ms. Hold ‘Em and her family so that was nice. And before that she met me out for a trip down to the bar where they were having a pre-Super Bowl sex toy party. Alas, we didn’t buy anything but as they brought new products out for demonstration it was interesting to watch her to see what piqued her interest. Yes, indeed.

Saturday was a bit of a pisser of a day. I invited Ms. Hold ‘Em to my son’s basketball game, but once again she felt she couldn’t make it. So I was bummed about that. And then she told me she was going to some place out across the state to get buffalo wings for Sunday–this after I told her that that was what I was making for the “Big Game.” So that kind of pissed me off. Finally, she decided not to have me over to the house that evening so she could get some work done. By that point I was kind of irked, but that at least was an understandable diss. (yes, I still use the word “diss”) I am proud of myself for not bitching about any of these things or getting all passive-aggressive about it (“These chicken wings suck compared to mine, but you’ll never know.” certainly came to mind on Sunday). I guess your “No Setback” guy is growing a little bit at least.

I just realized that this post is going anti-chronologically…on Friday we went down to the bar and the secret bar, where we were supposed to meet a colleague of mine. Unfortunately, he never showed–and we certainly would’ve done something else had we known that–but we had a lovely time together nevertheless. Though we didn’t get to play pool against each other, we did both play this guy who was holding the table. He was an interesting character. He’d approach the table aggressively as if he were going to beat the crap out of it but then would handle the stick so delicately and adroitly. He kind of reminded me of a mix between Huck Finn’s pap and Baryshnikov…or something like that.

Thursday, poker night took off again for Ms. Hold ‘Em. There was a full table and others waiting to get in. At 2, the bartender decided to keep the night going–it was twice as crowded as it had been at 1:30. At about 2:15 I was ready to go (and luckily for me we came in separate cars for once) and was about to tell Ms. Hold ‘Em that I was going to bail on her when she got a call from home that her daughter was up and crying. So, as it turned out, she had to bail on the game too. This was both good and bad–on the one hand, I knew she had class in the morning and staying til three would’ve exhausted her; on the other hand, the more money she makes, the better a hotel we’ll stay at when we take my birthday trip.

Oh, and that reminds me, less than two weeks to our first weekend trip. Woot woot!!

And, to totally mess up the anti-chronology of this post, tonight is pool night. It’ll be a challenge to get home early enough so we’re not exhausted tomorrow.  The trouble with Tuesdays of late has been that by ten, when the pool is wrapping up, we’re having too much fun to leave and, when we do leave, we find some way to extend our time together even longer. And, then–I can predict–on Wednesday (tomorrow) morning we’ll both be promising each other to go home earlier next week. When bad patterns of behavior are too much fun, how bad can they be?

4 Responses to “That Was The Week That Was”

  1. kenju Says:

    Joe, why don’t you let her win at pool a few times? That might help the situation. Michele thinks so.

  2. kenju Says:

    Here I am again, Joe, via Michele again. You must be over that weekend by now. Hope things are better for you.

  3. Leigh in Atlanta Says:

    hope things get better dude.

    michele sent me

  4. omykiss Says:

    Tough week then?

Leave a Reply

